A Fruitful Project: A is for Apron, Fruit Tart

A week ago today, I started an apron from the book A is for Apron by Nathalie Mornu. After 7 lonely days of the pattern pieces sitting in my “latest creation” jar… the Fruit Tart apron is complete!

I call my version of this apron, “Tweet.” My husband told me I should wear it when I post on Twitter – classy.

The apron took longer than I expected… I don’t follow directions well (at all) and I made my own pattern modifications. It also turns out I missed a few of the sewing basics along the way so I had to watch a lot of how-to videos in the process.

Here are some of the resources I personally found helpful:

  • A lot of the patterns in A is for Apron call for making your own bias tape. This was a first for me but it turns out that was easy; the hard part was putting it on. Can you believe I didn’t know how to put on bias binding?! Yikes. This bias tape tutorial from Angry Chicken saved me :)
  • As embarrassing as it is to say… I also didn’t know how to baste. In fact, I read the line “Baste 1/8 inch (3mm) from the bottom edge” in the instructions and thought… wtf?! Although this video looks like it was made in 1972 (is that lady’s outfit for real?), this video tutorial on How to Machine Baste was very useful!

I’m so excited about this apron that I’m starting on another – “Deep Pockets.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Sewing

Leave a Reply

