Oven-Fried Chicken and Greek Potatoes – YUM!

I am always on the lookout for yummy new meals and when I found this Oven-Fried Chicken recipe from the Food Network it sounded like a winner. My hunt to find a side to accompany it that would be equally as delicious led me to this Greek Style Potatoes recipe. I prepared the Greek potatoes just as the recipe suggests and they were the BEST potatoes I’ve had in a long time. I made a few changes to the oven-fried chicken, here is my version of the recipe:

Oven-Fried Chicken Recipe

Cook Time: 30 min  Level: Easy   Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/3 cups Rice Krispies cereal (leftover from the treats I made the day before)
  • 2 1/4 cups Bagel Chips (plain)
  • 3 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3/4 teaspoon hot paprika
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt (I picked up Stonyfield Organic, the single serve package was the perfect size)
  • 1 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 475 degrees F.
  • Finely grind the cereal and bagel chips in a food processor and transfer to a large resealable plastic bag. Add 3 teaspoons olive oil, the paprika, 2 teaspoons salt, and pepper to taste and toss.
  • Whisk 1/2 cup yogurt and the mustard in a shallow bowl. Add the chicken and turn to coat, then transfer to the bag; seal and shake to coat.
  • Place the chicken on a foil lined baking sheet. Bake until the chicken is crisp and a thermometer inserted into the thickest part registers 160 degrees F, about 30 minutes.

The Food Network recipe adds scallions and a dipping sauce to this. I don’t like scallions so instead I made steamed asparagus as a side and sautéed it with a little bit of butter, salt and garlic before I served it.  The chicken, potatoes and asparagus made a great combination. I also served a Greek salad; definitely a meal worthy to be served at a dinner party.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking

Leave a Reply

