Valentine's Day Pillows

I promised I would report on all of the projects I made over the weekend, so here goes. My friend Claudia spent the day with me on Saturday when we were trapped indoors by a massive snow storm (18 inches!) She is not as crazy about crafting as me (politely put, she thinks I’m a bit looney), but I managed to force her to create a few projects while she was with me.

To get in the Valentine’s Day spirit, we started with small throw pillows based on this project I’ve posted previously about. Since I was tailoring our pillows for the crafting novice (cough, Claudia, cough), we used a 12 by 12 inch piece of scrapbook paper for a basic pillow pattern. We used white fleece as the fabric and cut four squares each to make two pillows. Then, we used 5 varying shades of felt for the hearts. We used my Cricut to cut out our heart patterns. I used the Accent Essentials shape cartridge and made the largest heart 6 1/2 inches. I reduced the heart size by 1/4 inch each time I cut a new one for a total of 5 different sizes. Other than those few modifications, we just followed CraftyPod’s great tutorial.

Although she looked like she was playing tortured seamstress in a sweatshop while making them… Claudia was very pleased and proud of her final products. She also made the scarf she’s wearing, but I’ll save that for another day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sewing

Leave a Reply

